Rss Feed
Tweeter button
Facebook button
Technorati button
Reddit button
Myspace button
Linkedin button
Webonews button
Delicious button
Digg button
Flickr button
Stumbleupon button
Newsvine button

Posts tagged: gambling

List of UK online casinos that are not secure by default

By , December 15, 2017 1:30 pm

This is one of several posts of the topic of security of websites. Inspired by my initial post on the security of UK banks.

The reason for splitting this data into multiple posts is to make it more manageable. So that data on one institution is not mixed with data on another type of institution.

The following key is used for the secure status:

Yes The site is secure, loaded via https
Invalid The site loads via https, but the security certificate is invalid and thus the site is
insecure.
Partial The site loads via https, but loads some parts of the page without https. The site is
insecure.
No The site is loaded via http, not via https.
Fixed The site is loaded via https, but at the time of first writing it was loaded via
http.
?? We could not find a website to evaluate.

We tested 75 online casinos. We found 12 online casinos that did not have a secure home page (not https or did have https with an invalid security certificate). That is 16% of UK online casinos have security vulnerabilities.

Casino Secure Home Page
21Jackpots No http://21jackpots.com/
32Red Casino Yes https://www.32red.com/
50 Stars Casino No http://www.50starscasino.com/english/eur/download.html
888Casino Yes https://www.888casino.com/
All British Casino Yes https://www.allbritishcasino.com/
All Irish Casino Yes https://www.allirishcasino.com/
BETAT Casino Yes https://betat.co.uk/home/
Betfred Casino No http://www.betfred.com/casino
Betsafe Casino Yes https://www.betsafe.com/en/casino
Betspin Casino Yes https://www.betspin.com/gb
Betway Casino Yes https://casino.betway.com/lobby/en/#/home
Bet-At-Home Casino Yes https://uk.bet-at-home.com/
bgo Vegas Yes https://www.bgo.com/
Cashmio Casino Yes https://www.cashmio.com/en
CasinoLuck Yes https://www.casinoluck.com/
Casino Kings Yes https://www.casinokings.com/
Casino Magix Yes https://www.casinomagix.com/
Casumo Casino Yes https://www.casumo.com/en-gb/
ComeOn Casino Yes https://www.comeon.com/
Carnival Casino No http://www.carnivalcasino.com/
Casino Cruise Yes https://www.casinocruise.com/en-gb
Casino King Yes https://www.casinokings.com/
Casino Plex No http://casinoplex.co.uk/
Casino Share No http://www.luxurycasino.co.uk/en-gb/
Casino Splendido Yes https://www.casinosplendido.com/
Casino.com Yes https://www.casino.com/uk/
Challenge Casino No http://www.luxurycasino.co.uk/en-gb/
Conquer Casino Yes https://www.conquercasino.com/
Cyber Club Casino Yes https://www.cyberclubcasino.com/
Dash Casino Yes https://www.dashcasino.com/
Dr Vegas Casino Yes https://www.drvegas.com/
Dream Palace Casino Yes https://www.dreampalacecasino.com/
EnergyCasino Yes https://energycasino.com/en/
FruityCasa Casino Yes https://www.fruitycasa.com/
Gala Casino Yes https://www.galacasino.com/
GameVillage Yes https://www.gamevillage.com/
Golden Lounge Casino No http://www.goldenlounge.com/
Grosvenor Casino Yes https://www.grosvenorcasinos.com/
Guts Casino Yes https://www.guts.com/gb/page/welcome
Intercasino Yes https://www.intercasino.co.uk/
Jackpot Luck Casino Yes https://www.jackpotluck.com/
Jetbull Casino Yes https://www.jetbull.com/
Karamba Casino Yes https://www.karamba.com/
Ladbrokes Casino No http://casino.ladbrokes.com/en
Magic Box Casino No http://www.magicboxcasino.com/
Mansion Casino Yes https://play.mansioncasino.com/
Maria Casino Yes https://www.mariacasino.co.uk/
mFortune Casino Yes https://www.mfortune.co.uk/
MobileWins Casino Yes https://www.mobilewins.co.uk/
Monte Carlo Casino No http://www.casinomontecarlo.com/
Moon Games Casino Yes https://www.moongames.com/
Mr Green Casino Yes https://www.mrgreen.com/en
Nedplay Casino Yes https://www.nedplay.com/
Noxwin Casino Yes https://www.noxwin.com/#/
Oddsring Casino Yes https://www.oddsring.com/home
Paddy Power Casino No http://casino.paddypower.com/
PokerStars Casino Yes https://www.pokerstarscasino.uk/
Power Slots Yes https://www.powerslots.eu/
Prospect Hall Casino Yes https://prospecthallcasino.com/games/index/
Spinit Casino Yes https://www.spinit.com/en
Redbet Casino Yes https://www.redbet.com/en/casino
Red Queen Casino Yes https://www.redqueencasino.com/
Rizk Casino Yes https://rizk.com/gb
Roxy Palace Casino Yes https://www.roxypalace.com/
Royal Swipe Casino Yes https://www.royalswipe.com/
SCasino Yes https://www.scasino.com/uk/
Sportingbet Casino Yes https://casino.sportingbet.com/en/casino
ShadowBet Casino Yes https://www.shadowbet.com/uk
Slotty Vegas Casino Yes https://slottyvegas.com/en/welcome/
Sporting Index Casino Yes https://casino.sportingindex.com/
Trada Casino Yes https://www.tradacasino.com/
Unibet Casino Yes https://www.unibet.co.uk/casino#filter:uk-unibet-picks-casino-slots-7-420439
Vegas Paradise Casino Yes https://www.vegasparadise.com/
VideoSlots Casino Yes https://www.videoslots.com/
William Hill Casino Yes https://casino.williamhill.com/#!/

Commentary

Reputation

Just as with wealth management, there are some big names in this list, that spend lots of money on advertising, and yet they are not secure. You cannot rely on a trusted brand name to mean that you get a secure website.

Downloading from a non secure site

One site in particular deserves a special mention. 50 Stars Casino. This is not secure, but for you to gamble with them you need to download a software package from their non-secure website and then install the software. I did download it. The download is digitally signed, but given that it’s downloading off a non-secure page, the download could, technically be anything, not necessarily the software the casino wants you to download. This is not good. Not only is the website not secure, but it could potentially attack your computer if the download is compromised.

Disclaimer

I shouldn’t need to point this out, but i will, all the same, just to be clear.

The data provided on this page should taken at face value. If you’re not sure about something, please verify it yourself. Nothing reported here should be regarded as a criticism or an endorsement or recommendation of an organisations security effectiveness. I am simply passing comment on whether the home page (whatever that may be) is provided as https on not. Other security concerns are a separate matter.

If your organisation is listed here and is not marked as secure, your best course of action is to fix that, not to complain that someone is reporting a fact anyone with a web browser can discover. The security status of your home page is public information, albeit information that many people don’t understand.

Panorama Theme by Themocracy