Rss Feed
Tweeter button
Facebook button
Technorati button
Reddit button
Myspace button
Linkedin button
Webonews button
Delicious button
Digg button
Flickr button
Stumbleupon button
Newsvine button

Posts tagged: wealth management

List of UK Wealth Management companies that are not secure by default

By , December 15, 2017 12:16 pm

This is one of several posts of the topic of security of websites. Inspired by my initial post on the security of UK banks.

The reason for splitting this data into multiple posts is to make it more manageable. So that data on one institution is not mixed with data on another type of institution.

This is an updated version of an earlier post. We have added 15 companies since the first version.

The following key is used for the secure status:

Yes The site is secure, loaded via https
Invalid The site loads via https, but the security certificate is invalid and thus the site is insecure.
Partial The site loads via https, but loads some parts of the page without https. The site is insecure.
No The site is loaded via http, not via https.
Fixed The site is loaded via https, but at the time of first writing it was loaded via http.
?? We could not find a website to evaluate.

We tested 68 wealth management companies. We found 18 wealth management companies that did not have a secure home page (not https or did have https with an invalid security certificate). That is 27% of UK wealth management companies have security vulnerabilities

Wealth Management Company Secure Home Page
Aberdeen Asset Management No http://www.aberdeen-asset.co.uk/
Aberdeen Asset Management Trust Centre No http://www.invtrusts.co.uk/investmenttrusts/
Allianz Global Investors Yes https://uk.allianzgi.com/role-gate-page
Artemis Investment Management LLP Yes https://www.artemisfunds.com/
Baillie Gifford Yes https://www.bailliegifford.com/
Barclays Wealth Yes https://www.barclays.co.uk/wealth-management/
Blackrock Yes https://www.blackrock.com
Brewin Dolphin Yes https://www.brewin.co.uk/
Cantab Asset Management Yes https://www.cantabam.com/
Capital Yes https://www.capital.co.uk/
Capital International Yes https://www.capital-iom.com/
CBRE Global Investors No http://www.cbreglobalinvestors.com/Pages/default.aspx
CCLA Yes https://www.ccla.co.uk/
Charles Stanley Yes https://www.charles-stanley.co.uk/
Citi Yes https://www.citibank.co.uk/personal/wealth-management-products.do
City Asset Management Plc No http://www.city-asset.co.uk/
Clifton asset management Yes https://www.clifton-asset.co.uk/
Close Brothers Asset Management Yes https://www.closebrothersam.com/
EFG Yes https://www.efgam.com/home/Landing-Asset-Management.html
Equester Capital Management Yes https://www.neptunefunds.com
Fidelity Worldwide Investment Yes https://www.fidelity.co.uk/home
Franklin Templeton No http://www.franklintempleton.co.uk/
GAM Yes https://www.gam.com/
Hargreaves Lansdowne No http://www.hl.co.uk/
Hawksmoor investment management No http://www.hawksmoorim.co.uk/
Heartwood investment management No http://www.heartwoodgroup.co.uk/
Henderson Global Investors Yes https://www.janushenderson.com/ukpi
Hermes Investment Management Yes https://www.hermes-investment.com/ukw/
Interactive Investor No http://www.iii.co.uk/funds
Investec Bank Yes https://www.investec.com/en_gb.html
Invesco Perpetual Yes https://www.invescoperpetual.co.uk/uk
Kleinwort Hambros Yes https://www.kleinworthambros.com/en/
Lion Trust No http://www.liontrust.co.uk/
London and Capital Yes https://www.londonandcapital.com/
M&G Securities Ltd No http://www.mandg.co.uk/
Majedie No http://www.majedie.com/
Mattioli Woods Yes https://www.mattioliwoods.com/
Mayfair Capital Yes https://www.mayfaircapital.co.uk/
Money Farm Yes https://www.moneyfarm.com/uk/
Montanaro Yes http://www.montanaro.co.uk/
Morning Star No http://www.morningstar.co.uk/uk/
MunnyPot Yes https://www.munnypot.com/
Newton Investment Management Yes https://www.newtonim.com/
Nova Financial Yes https://www.novia-financial.co.uk/
Nutmeg Yes https://www.nutmeg.com/
Old Mutual Wealth Yes https://www.oldmutualwealth.co.uk/
Prospect Wealth Management Yes https://prospectwealth.co.uk/
Psigma investment maangement No http://www.psigma.com/pages/psigma-investment-management-landing.aspx
Quilter Cheviot Yes https://www.quiltercheviot.com/uk/private-client/
Rathbones Yes https://www.rathbones.com/
Sanlam Life and Pensions UK Limited Yes https://www.sanlam.co.uk/home.aspx
Saranac Partners Yes https://www.saranacpartners.com/
Scalable Capital Yes https://uk.scalable.capital/
St. Jame’s Place Yes https://www.sjp.co.uk/
Standard Life Investments Yes https://www.standardlifeinvestments.com/
State Street Global Advisors Yes https://www.ssga.com/home.html
Schroders No http://www.schroders.com
SVM Asset Management No http://www.svmonline.co.uk/
Swanest Yes https://swanest.com/
T Rowe Price Yes https://www3.troweprice.com/usis/corporate/en/home.html
TAM Yes https://www.tamassetmanagement.com/
Threadneedle Asset Management Yes https://www.mythreadneedle.com/
Tilney Group Yes https://www.tilney.co.uk/
Troy Asset Management No http://www.taml.co.uk/
UBS Global Asset Management Yes https://www.ubs.com/global/en/asset-management.html
Unicorn Asset Management Yes https://www.unicornam.com/
Vanguard Asset Management Yes https://www.vanguardinvestor.co.uk/
Wealth Horizon No http://www.wealthhorizon.com/

Commentary

It is interesting that you cannot trust a name or a brand to be secure. For example, Aberdeen Asset Management is probably the one name that is most known in the UK. They are regularly featured on the early morning BBC Radio 4 Today Programme to provide their expert opinion. Unfortunately, their website is not secure.

A number of these companies have names that sound old and established, or strong and reliable. They are names, just that. The reliability is in their behaviour. A key part in that is “are they secure”?

Disclaimer

I shouldn’t need to point this out, but i will, all the same, just to be clear.

The data provided on this page should taken at face value. If you’re not sure about something, please verify it yourself. Nothing reported here should be regarded as a criticism or an endorsement or recommendation of an organisations security effectiveness. I am simply passing comment on whether the home page (whatever that may be) is provided as https on not. Other security concerns are a separate matter.

If your organisation is listed here and is not marked as secure, your best course of action is to fix that, not to complain that someone is reporting a fact anyone with a web browser can discover. The security status of your home page is public information, albeit information that many people don’t understand.

Share

Panorama Theme by Themocracy